2020 Kansas Legislative and State School Board Election


Education First Shawnee Mission will be endorsing pro-public education candidates for the 2020 Primary and General elections. Education First will endorse in Kansas state legislature races within the Shawnee Mission School District area. All seats in the Kansas Senate and House of Representatives are up for election in 2020. In addition, we will be endorsing in the Kansas State Board of Education race for Position 2, which represents the Shawnee Mission area.

Education First is extremely proud of our transparent and in-depth endorsement process. In order to be considered for endorsement, all candidates must complete this process, which includes formal surveys that are sent to all the candidates running for Kansas Legislature or State Board of Education (candidates had to be registered with the Kansas Secretary of State). These surveys included questions based on Education First's six main issues regarding the legislature: School Funding, Tax Policy, Outside Interest Groups, Privatization and School Vouchers, Impartiality vs Propaganda, and Anti-Racism. Candidates who completed the survey were then invited to meet individually with members of Education First to share more about their positions. These interviews will be conducted online via Zoom in order to maintain social distancing guidelines. Education First uses a professional rubric to score both the surveys and the subsequent interviews, and final decisions on endorsements are made by totaling those scores.

2020 Election Endorsements

Education First Shawnee Mission (EFSM) has released its endorsements for the 2020 Kansas legislative and State Board of Education races ahead of the November general election. The following candidates have received EFSM’s endorsement as a Pro-Public Education Candidate:

Kansas Senate:

  • Senate District 7: DUAL endorsement Laura McConwell (R) and Ethan Corson (D)
  • Senate District 8: Cindy Holscher (D)
  • Senate District 10: Lindsey Constance (D)
  • Senate District 11: Joy Koesten (D)
  • Senate District 21: Dinah Sykes (D)

Kansas House:

  • House District 14: Angela Schweller (D)
  • House District 16: Linda Featherston (D)
  • House District 17: Jo Ella Hoye (D)
  • House District 18: Cindy Neighbor (D)
  • House District 19: Stephanie Clayton (D) *unopposed
  • House District 20: Mari-Lynn Poskin (D)
  • House District 21: Jerry Stogsdill (D)
  • House District 22: Lindsay Vaughn (D)
  • House District 23: Susan Ruiz (D)
  • House District 24: Jarrod Ousley (D) *unopposed
  • House District 25: Rui Xu (D) *unopposed
  • House District 29: Brett Parker (D)
  • House District 30: Brandon Woodard (D)

State Board of Education:

  • Position 2: Melanie Haas (D)

Endorsement Process

Education First Shawnee Mission endorses all candidates who meet our criteria. To read our 2020 election candidate survey and questionnaire, please click here.

Support Education First

Donate Now